FAVORITE MOVIE COUPLES

I’m pretty sure that most audiences are romanticists. To love is human. That is why romantic films always interest audiences. The following are some of my favorite pairs onscreen:

1. NATALIE WOODSTEVE McQUEEN


Film: Love with the Proper Stranger (1963)

Natalie Wood as Angie Rossini
Steve McQueen as Rocky Papasano

Their Love Story: Single woman (Wood) from a Catholic Italian-American family finds herself pregnant after a one-night stand with a struggling musician (McQueen). The two get reacquainted after she finds him to help her finance her abortion. He obliges. What happens later is a touching portrait of unexpected yet willing love and kindness on the guy’s part.
Memorable Lines:

Angie Rossini: [when asked out by Rocky] Well, I’ve got a date!
Rocky Papasano: With who?
[Angie laughs]
Rocky Papasano: What’s funny?
Angie Rossini: If I didn’t know better, I’d swear you’re my brother Dominick.

2. CHA TAE-HYUN JEON JI-HYUN


Film: My Sassy Girl (2001)

Jeon Ji-hyun as The Girl
Cha Tae-hyun as Kyun-woo

Their Love Story: Nice guy falls for quirky girl despite of her making him wear high heels.

Memorable Lines:

Kyun-woo: [talking about The Girl] The 10 Rules: 1. Don’t ask her to be feminine 2. Don’t let her drink over three glasses 3. Drink coffee instead of Coke/Juice 4. If she hits you, act like it hurts. If it hurts, act like it doesn’t 5. On your 100th day together, give her a rose during her class 6. Make sure you learn fencing and squash 7. Be prepared to go to prison sometimes 8. If she says she’ll kill you, don’t take it lightly 9. If her feet hurt, exchange shoes with her 10. She likes to write. Encourage her.


3. AUDREY HEPBURNGREGORY PECK


Film: Roman Holiday (1953)

Gregory Peck as Joe Bradley
Audrey Hepburn as Princess Ann

Their Love Story? Think: a classier Notting Hill.

Memorable Lines:

Princess Ann: At midnight, I’ll turn into a pumpkin and drive away in my glass slipper.
Joe Bradley: And that will be the end of the fairy tale.

4. DIANE KEATONWOODY ALLEN


Film: Annie Hall (1977)

Woody Allen as Alvy Singer
Diane Keaton as Annie Hall

Their Love Story: Story of a supposedly funny guy who gets the girl. Girl breaks up with him yet they remain friends.

Memorable Lines:

[In California]
Annie Hall: It’s so clean out here.
Alvy: That’s because they don’t throw their garbage away, they turn it into television shows.



5. ROBIN WRIGHT-PENNTOM HANKS


Film: Forrest Gump (1994)

Tom Hanks as Forrest Gump
Robin Wright as Jenny

Their Love Story: Jenny, Forrest’s girl. Y’all know what this is about, right? 🙂

Memorable Lines:

Forrest Gump: Will you marry me?
[Jenny turns and looks at him]
Forrest Gump: I’d make a good husband, Jenny.
Jenny: You would, Forrest.
Forrest Gump: But you won’t marry me.
Jenny: [sadly] You don’t wanna marry me.
Forrest Gump: Why don’t you love me, Jenny?
[Jenny says nothing]
Forrest Gump: I’m not a smart man… but I know what love is.

6. VIVIEN LEIGHCLARK GABLE


Film: Gone with the Wind (1939)

Vivien Leigh as Scarlett O’Hara
Clark Gable as Rhett Butler

Their Love Story: Frankly, my dear, I think you already know what this is about.

Memorable Lines:

Scarlett: Rhett, Rhett… Rhett, if you go, where shall I go? What shall I do?
Rhett: Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.

7. JACK NICHOLSONFAYE DUNAWAY

Film: Chinatown (1974)

Jack Nicholson as JJ “Jake” Gittes
Faye Dunaway as Evelyn Mulwray

Their Love Story: A love story set at the wrong place, at the wrong time. “As little as possible.

Memorable Lines:

Jake Gittes: Maid’s night off?
Evelyn Mulwray: Why?
Jake Gittes: What do you mean, “why?” Nobody’s here, that’s why.
Evelyn Mulwray: I gave everyone the night off.
Jake Gittes: Easy. It’s an innocent question.
Evelyn Mulwray: No question from you is innocent, Mr. Gittes.
Jake Gittes: I guess you’re right.

8. DARIA HALPRINMARK FRECHETTE

Film: Zabriskie Point (1970)

Daria Halprin as Daria
Mark Frechette as Mark

Their Love Story: Two iconoclasts fall in love in Zabriskie Point, of all places.

Memorable Lines:

Mark: Would you like to go with me?
Daria: Where?
Mark: Wherever I’m going.
Daria: Are you *really* asking?
Mark: Is that your *real* answer?

9. BARBARA STANWYCKFRED MacMURRAY



Film: Double Indemnity (1944)

Barbara Stanwyck as Phyllis Dietrichson
Fred MacMurray as Walter Neff

Their Love Story: Two wretched people form a wretched love affair. Oh, and did I say “wretched?”

Memorable Lines:

Phyllis Dietrichson: We’re both rotten.
Walter Neff: Only you’re a little more rotten.

10. CATHERINE DENUEVEDAVID BOWIE

Film: The Hunger (1983)

Catherine Deneuve as Miriam
David Bowie as John

Their Love Story: I like vampire love stories, especially campy ones.

Memorable Lines:

John: Forever…?
Miriam: …and ever.


DISCLAIMER: No copyright infringement intended. I don’t own or claim to own any of the photos used.



3 thoughts on “FAVORITE MOVIE COUPLES

  1. I enjoyed discovering your blog. Your post on movie couples is well put together and contains some interesting selections that I wouldn't have thought of – thanks for sharing.

    I'm a comedy fan and my favourite movie couples reflect that: William Powell & Myrna Loy, Rock Hudson & Doris Day. I like Spencer Tracy & Katharine Hepburn most in their comedies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

